A resource-sharing community for Canadian HIV and hepatitis C service providers

CPHA

Position/Job Title: 
Senior Project Officer, STBBI Prevention

Resources

Facilitation manual - Challenging organizational stigma: Providing safer and more inclusive sexual health, harm reduction and STBBI-related services

CPHA and the Calgary Sexual Health Centre developed the content for three workshops focused on the reduction of STBBI-related stigma. You can download the workshop resources, including a facilitation manual, a participant workbook and the presentation slides, to help you facilitate a training workshop in your own community.

Facilitation manual - Moving beyond the basics: An advanced workshop about sexual health, substance use, STBBIs and stigma

CPHA and the Calgary Sexual Health Centre developed the content for three workshops focused on the reduction of STBBI-related stigma. You can download the workshop resources, including a facilitation manual, a participant workbook and the presentation slides, to help you facilitate a training workshop in your own community.

Facilitation manual - Exploring STBBIs and stigma: An introductory workshop for health and social service providers

CPHA and the Calgary Sexual Health Centre developed the content for three workshops focused on the reduction of STBBI-related stigma. You can download the workshop resources, including a facilitation manual, a participant workbook and the presentation slides, to help you facilitate a training workshop in your own community.

Self-assessment tool for STBBIs and stigma

This psychometrically validated tool, based on the Healthcare Provider HIV/AIDS Stigma Scale, offers several questions to help frontline health and social service providers reflect on their own attitudes, values and beliefs related to STBBIs.

Organizational assessment tool for STBBIs and stigma

This tool assists organizations in identifying the policy, environmental and cultural factors that contribute to the reduction of stigma and, in turn, creating settings where clients feel welcomed and respected when seeking care.

Reducing stigma and discrimination through the protection of privacy and confidentiality

This resource explains the important role of privacy and confidentiality in reducing stigma and discrimination related to STBBIs, and offers frontline health and social service providers several strategies they can use to deal with issues related to privacy, confidentiality, the criminalization of HIV non-disclosure and stigma reduction.

Discussing sexual health, harm reduction and STBBIs: A guide for service providers

This resource, intended  for frontline health and social service providers, offers sample dialogue and outlines several strategies to facilitate safer and more respectful discussions about sexual health, substance use and STBBIs with clients.

Factors that Impact Vulnerability to HIV and other STBBIs

The factors that impact vulnerability (FIV) to sexually transmitted and blood-borne infections (STBBIs) have been developed as part of the STBBI Health Equity Impact Assessment Tool to help you assess an STBBI-prevention initiative. The factors contained in this document do not constitute a definitive list. They serve as a starting point to identify some of the key factors that affect a person’s risk in relation to STBBIs. They highlight where front-line workers may act to improve health outcomes in STBBI prevention.

Introduction to New HIV Prevention Technologies – Training Module

This training module is to be used by facilitators in the training of frontline providers on New HIV Prevention Technologies (NPTs) and as an online resource. The module presents a general overview of NPTs as of March 2012 and can be completed in approximately 1 hour. The module comes complete with PowerPoint presentation and facilitator notes.

Preparing Public Health for New HIV Prevention Technologies: A Road Map for Comprehensive Action in Canada

This document examines public health's knowledge, information needs, roles, opportunities, challenges and capacity to introduce and deliver new HIV prevention technologies in Canada. The report presents the findings of various data collection methods including consultations, a literature search/review, key informant interviews and a nationwide online survey of public health stakeholders.

Pages

CPHA | Sage
Une communauté de partage des ressources pour les fournisseurs de services canadiens dans le domaine du VIH et de l’hépatite C

CPHA

Poste/Titre: 
Senior Project Officer, STBBI Prevention

Ressources

Facilitation manual - Challenging organizational stigma: Providing safer and more inclusive sexual health, harm reduction and STBBI-related services

L’ACSP et le Centre de santé sexuelle de Calgary ont élaboré le contenu de trois ateliers portant sur la réduction de la stigmatisation liée aux ITSS. Vous pouvez télécharger les ressources de chaque atelier, y compris un guide d’animation, un cahier de participation et les diapositives de la présentation, pour vous aider à animer un atelier de formation dans votre propre communauté.

Facilitation manual - Moving beyond the basics: An advanced workshop about sexual health, substance use, STBBIs and stigma

L’ACSP et le Centre de santé sexuelle de Calgary ont élaboré le contenu de trois ateliers portant sur la réduction de la stigmatisation liée aux ITSS. Vous pouvez télécharger les ressources de chaque atelier, y compris un guide d’animation, un cahier de participation et les diapositives de la présentation, pour vous aider à animer un atelier de formation dans votre propre communauté.

Facilitation manual - Exploring STBBIs and stigma: An introductory workshop for health and social service providers

L’ACSP et le Centre de santé sexuelle de Calgary ont élaboré le contenu de trois ateliers portant sur la réduction de la stigmatisation liée aux ITSS. Vous pouvez télécharger les ressources de chaque atelier, y compris un guide d’animation, un cahier de participation et les diapositives de la présentation, pour vous aider à animer un atelier de formation dans votre propre communauté.

Self-assessment tool for STBBIs and stigma

Cet outil psychométriquement validé, fondé sur l’échelle HPASS (Healthcare Provider HIV/AIDS Stigma Scale), contient plusieurs questions pour aider les dispensateurs de services sociaux et de santé de première ligne à réfléchir à leurs propres attitudes, valeurs et croyances en lien avec les ITSS.

Organizational assessment tool for STBBIs and stigma

Cet outil aidera les organismes à cerner les facteurs politiques, environnementaux et culturels qui contribuent à réduire la stigmatisation et, en retour, à créer des milieux où les usagers se sentent accueillis et respectés lorsqu’ils demandent des soins.

Reducing stigma and discrimination through the protection of privacy and confidentiality

Cette ressource explique l’importance de protéger la vie privée et la confidentialité pour réduire la stigmatisation et la discrimination liées aux ITSS et propose aux dispensateurs de services sociaux et de santé de première ligne plusieurs stratégies qu’ils peuvent utiliser pour composer avec les enjeux liés à la vie privée, à la confidentialité, à la criminalisation de la non-divulgation du VIH et à la réduction de la stigmatisation.

Discussing sexual health, harm reduction and STBBIs: A guide for service providers

Cette ressource, qui s’adresse aux dispensateurs de services sociaux et de santé de première ligne, propose des exemples de dialogues et explique plusieurs stratégies qui faciliteront des discussions plus sûres et plus respectueuses avec les usagers à propos de la santé sexuelle, de la consommation de substances et des ITSS.

Factors that Impact Vulnerability to HIV and other STBBIs

Les FIV sont conçus pour faire partie de l’outil d’évaluation de l’impact sur l’équité en matière de santé axé sur les ITSS, qui aide à évaluer les initiatives de prévention des infections transmissibles sexuellement et par le sang (ITSS). Les facteurs répertoriés dans le présent document ne constituent pas une liste définitive. Ils sont un point de départ pour cerner certains des principaux facteurs qui influencent le risque d’une personne de contracter des ITSS.

Introduction to New HIV Prevention Technologies – Training Module

Ce module a été conçu pour être utilisé par les animateurs-formateurs pour la formation des dispensateurs de première ligne sur les nouvelles techniques de prévention (NTP) des infections à VIH, et pour servir de ressource en ligne. Le module donne un aperçu général de la situation des NTP au mois de mars 2012 et peut être présenté en une heure environ. Il comprend une présentation PowerPoint ainsi que des notes à l’intention de l’animateur-formateur.

Preparing Public Health for New HIV Prevention Technologies: A Road Map for Comprehensive Action in Canada

Le present document porte sur les connaissances des milieu de la santé publique, leurs besoins d’information, leur rôle, les possibilités et les défis qui les attendent, et leur capacité d’introduire les NTP et d’en organiser l’offre au Canada. Nous présentons des résultats obtenus par diverses méthodes de collecte de données: des consultations, une recherche/enquête bibliographique, des entretiens avec des informateurs et un sondage en ligne auprès d’acteurs de la santé publique de tout le pays. Un résumé est disponible en français.

Pages